Appointment of JANU’s New President Juichi Yamagiwa (June 14, 2017)

 On Wednesday, June 14, 2017, The Japan Association of National Universities (JANU) held the FY 2017 1st General Conference at Gakushikaikan, Tokyo, and reelected the board members.

 JANU is pleased to announce that Dr. Juichi Yamagiwa, who is the current President of Kyoto University and formerly served as JANU’s Vice President, was newly appointed as JANU’s President.

 In his remarks at the appointment, Dr. Yamagiwa said, “we have to overcome the intricate situation by performing at our best and show new strength of the national universities.”

 On the General Conference, the following four new Vice Presidents were also appointed:
 -Dr. Seiichi Matsuo, President of Nagoya University
 -Dr. Kyosuke Nagata, President of University of Tsukuba (reappointed)
 -Dr. Masaaki Oka, President of Yamaguchi University
 -Dr. Kimiko Murofushi, President of Ochanomizu University


 For more information about our new board members, please click on the link below.


JANU’s President Juichi Yamagiwa


JANU’s Vice President Seiichi Matsuo


JANU’s Vice President Kyosuke Nagata


JANU’s Vice President Masaaki Oka


JANU’s Vice President Kimiko Murofushi