JANU Signs a Student Exchange Agreement with French Counterparts

           On Monday, May 5, 2014, the Japan Association of National Universities (JANU), the Conférence des Présidents d'Université (CPU), and the Conférence des Directeurs des Écoles Françaises d’Ingénieurs (CDEFI) signed an “Agreement Concerning Mutual Recognition of Enrollment, Degrees, and Credits to Maintain Enrollment in Higher Education Institutions” at the Palais de l'Élysée in Paris, France, in the presence of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and President François Hollande.

           Conclusion of this agreement was prompted by the recent “Japan-France Joint Statement,” released during President Holland’s visit to Japan in June last year. Since the joint statement calls for the formulation of an action plan to strengthen bilateral university cooperation, JANU has held talks with its French counterparts toward the signing of a relevant agreement. In April this year, a French delegation came to Japan to visit Japanese national universities and other institutions. Members of the delegation also had intense discussions over a draft agreement with Toshimasa Asahara (President, Hiroshima University), Chairman of JANU International Exchange Committee, and Kazuhiko Sato (President, Muroran Institute of Technology), Vice Chairman of JANU International Exchange Committee.

           The agreement targets national universities that belong to JANU, as well as higher education institutions that belong to CPU and CDEFI. The agreement mainly concerns mutual recognition of basic requirements and credits for admission and enrollment in both countries’ bachelor, master, and doctoral programs. In the years to come, universities in each country will refer to the content of the agreement in promoting student exchange with universities, etc. in the other country.

           This is the first agreement that JANU has signed with any French organization relating to higher education institutions. This development is hoped to further invigorate student exchange among the target institutions in Japan and France.



JANU President Hiroshi Matsumoto and signatories from the French parties (CPU and CDEFI)